GSC History

Greystones Sailing Club was established in 1968 by Gordon Clarke, Dermod Cafferkey, John Roy, Toby Davies and Ian Mitchell.

Initially sailing Mirror dinghies launched from a rubber mat on the shingle on North Beach with boats brought to the harbour on the tops of cars for each race. In 1969 a site was acquired from the Local Civics Association and over the next four years a fence and a clubhouse were built. Later with Wicklow County Council and the Civic Association a slipway was built at the Northern breakwater.

The club grew during the eighties and nineties with an active fleet of around 25 Enterprise dinghies with Junior members in Lasers and Mirrors up to a record 53 dinghies on the water for the Annual Club Regatta in 2008. In 2014 Greystones harbour area was renovated and the club was provided with a brand new customised clubhouse and large pen overlooking the harbour and the new marina.

Greystones Sailing Club has established a reputation for organising National and Regional Championships and has hosted many events such as the Helmsmen Championships, the Enterprise National Championships, the Mirror National Championships, Wayfarer National Championships, GP 14 Purcell Trophy, RS National Championships and the Taste of Greystones regatta for keelboats.

Greystones Sailing Club over the years has produced Olympian sailors, such as Marshall King, Aisling Bowman nee Byrne, Tim Goodbody and numerous International class sailors such as Trevor Fisher, Craig Thompson, Sean Craig, Jack Roy, Roy Van Maanen and Shane McCarthy.